New Zealand Bowled for 221 1st innings- 2nd test match

hi-res-a17d0d9655519e513e99b56b8db48c07_crop_north 1PORT -OF- SPAIN, Trinidad: New Zealand Captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and decided to bat first against the West Indies on the opening day of the second match of the three-Test series at Queen’s Park Oval on Monday. They have made only one change in the team comparing to the last match which they had played. Hamish Rutherford will replace out of form opener Peter Fulton. This will surely a chance for New Zealand team to grab the series and take it home.

West Indies have made couple of changes in their team. Off spinner Shane Shillingford, who was injured during the 1st test match at Kingston is replaced by Shannon Gabriel and middle order batsman Jermaine Blackwood making his test debut replacing Marlon Samuels, while Kraigg Brathwaite replacing Keiran Powell and joins Chris Gayle at the top.

The Black Caps, after winning the toss, were coasting when Latham and Kane Willimson shared a second wicket stand of 104. Earlier, the West Indies got a breakthrough when the recalled Hamish Rutherford edged Taylor to first slip at 16-1.

Ross Taylor scores unbeaten 45 runs before he ran out of partners. Latham, who scored 83 and 73 in the first test won by New Zealand in Jamaica, reached his third straight half century, scores 82 runs. However, he enjoyed some luck soon afterward when a thick edge off Benn was dropped by wicketkeeper Dinesh Ramdin. He was looking for his maiden test century when Kemar roach found hi edge and Benn produced an excellent diving catch at gully.

New Zealand were bowled out for 221 on day one of the second test match. The hosts were 6-1 in reply by stumps at queen’s park oval. At the end of the day Brathwaite and Benn were at crease.


NEW ZEALAND 1st innings Total 221/10 in 74.4 overs Latham (82), k Williamson (42), Taylor (45 not out) ,  Jerome Taylor 4-34, Benn 3-73.

WEST INDIES 1st innings Total 6/1 in 7 overs Chris Gayle (1 out), Brathwaite (5) Boult 1-4 in in his 4 overs spell.

16-20 June 2014                                               At Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain 


Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *