Narine and Pollard re-enters in West Indies squad

West Indies picked up Narine and Pollard for the first three Tri series matches

Narine and Pollard re-enters in West Indies squad
Narine and Pollard re-enters in West Indies squad

Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard are included in West Indies ODI squad for the first four matches of the upcoming tri-series against Australia and South Africa, which starts from June 3.

Both the players have not played for West Indies since November 2015. Narine has been ruled out following a suspected action during West Indies’ tour of Sri Lanka in November last year and subsequently suspended from bowling by ICC.

Sunil Narine has also picked up for T20 World Cup 2016 but immediately pulled out after citing “insufficient progress in the rehabilitative work” on his action. He was given clean chit to bowl again by ICC in Aril 2016 just before IPL. Following ICC consent he played eight matches for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in IPL and picked up 7 wickets with an economy of 6.94. Now he is all ready and legally authorized with new and viable bowling action to play for West Indies again.

Pollard on the other hand missed international cricket due to a knee injury which he suffered while playing the Ram Slam T20 Challenge in South Africa last November. The injury forced his omission from the World T20, after he was initially named in the squad. He made his return to competitive cricket in IPL 2016, and has scored 198 runs in 12 matches for Mumbai Indians so far with one fifty. He has also bowled six overs in the tournament.

The selecting committee though included the two veterans in the squad but many were excluded from the squad too. The squad did not include allrounders Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, and Dwayne Bravo, and batsman Chris Gayle, all of whom were not contracted by WICB earlier this year.

However Allrounder Carlos Brathwaite and batsman Marlon Samuels, who played key roles in West Indies’ World T20 victory earlier this year, were included in the squad.

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (capt), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Shannon Gabriel, Sunil Narine, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *