Misbah equals fastest Test century record

Misbah equals Viv Richards’ record for fastest Test century on day four of the second Test.


Pakistan skipper Misbah-Ul-Haq has equalled the record for the fastest Test century against Australia in the second innings of the second test match in Abu Dhabi on Sunday. The record for the fastest Test hundred in terms of balls faced was set by West Indian legend Viv Richards, against England at St. John’s Antigua in 1986, who also took 56 balls.

Earlier Misbah smashed the fastest test fifty of just 21 balls, beating the South African Jacques kallis record of a 24 ball fifty against Zimbabwe in Cape Town in 2005. Misbah hit two boundaries off Paceman Mitchell Starc to reach his hundred, and punched the air in delight.

This is also the second fastest hundred in terms of time. Misbah took 74 minutes to reach this mark. Jack Gregory who reached hundred after 70 minutes batting against South Africa at Johannesburg in 1921. The previous fastest Test half-century by a Pakistani batsman was by Shahid Afridi who took 26 balls to reach the mark, against India at Bangalore in 2005.

VVS Laxman took to twitter to praise Misbah for his terrific record-equalling ton while Damien Fleming, Adam Gilchrist, Michael Vaughan also had congratulatory messages.

Fastest 100: Misbah equals sir Viv’s record

Batsman                 Balls           Country          Opposition        Year

Viv Richards          56              West Indies      England            1986

Misbah-Ul-Haq      56               Pakistan          Australia           2014

Adam Gilchrist       57              Australia         England             2006

Jack Gregory          67              Australia         South Africa      1921


Fastest 50: Misbah breaks Kallis record

Batsman                    Balls            Country           Opposition         Year

Misbah-Ul-Haq            21             Pakistan           Australia           2014

Jacques Kallis              24             South Africa    Zimbabwe         2005

Shane Shillingford       25             West Indies      New Zealand     2014

Shahid Afridi               26             Pakistan           India                  2005

Mohammad Ashraful   26             Bangladesh      India                  2007



Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *