India defends its numero uno position

India finished at no. 1 and received $1million check from ICC along with the mace after clinching the Border–Gavaskar Trophy by 2-1

India defends its numero uno position
India beating Australia by 2-1 in Border–Gavaskar Trophy

The test season (2016-2017) has proved to be a fairy tale for India and its Captain Virat kohli. Many records has been chased by the elite Indian players and added the required confidence in the young team that made India No. 1 team hence again.

Ravindra Jadeja a limited over specialist has proved his mettle in the test format too by registering his name as no. 1 test bowler in the ICC ranking, with team mate Ravichandran Ashwin taking the second spot, that released during Border–Gavaskar Trophy.

Ravichandran Ashwin has also registered his name in history book after taking fastest 250 wickets thereby breaking Dennis Lillee record. He has become the sixth Indian bowler after Anil Kumble (619), Kapil Dev (434), Harbhajan Singh (417), Zaheer Khan (311), Bishan Singh Bedi (266) to reach to 250 Test wickets.

Kohli continued his winning streak of test series after beating Australia (2-1) and bringing his tally to 7 series win in a row. Kohli won 2-1 against Sri Lanka, 3-0 against South Africa, 2-0 against West Indies, 3-0 against New Zealand, 4-0 against England, 1-0 against Bangladesh and 2-1 against Australia in Test series.

Cheteshwar Pujara Breaks Rahul Dravid’s Record For Most Balls Faced By An Indian Batsman In A Test Innings. Dravid had faced 495 balls during his 270 against Pakistan in 2004. Pujara finished with 202 in 525 balls, a new record for India.

India entered into series against Australia and needed to win one Test to guarantee their No. 1 ranking. The 2-1 series victory over Australia meant that India currently hold Test titles against all other teams, a feat previously matched only by Australia (twice) and South Africa.

Virat Kohli received the Test mace and cheque at the post-match presentation ceremony in Dharamsala. “The longest format of the game really tests a team’s character and I’m proud that we have proved ourselves to be the best,” he said.

The race to No. 2 is still on. It will be decided on the fifth day in Hamilton, where South Africa need to come away with at least a draw against New Zealand to hold on to the No. 2 ranking and claim the prize money of $500,000. If they lose, Australia will pip them to second place.

The ICC also announced that India offspinner R Ashwin will be awarded the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for being the ICC Cricketer of the Year for 2016. Ashwin, who was also named ICC Test Cricketer of the Year for 2016, took 48 wickets and scored 336 runs in the eight Tests he played during the period under consideration – September 14, 2015 to September 20, 2016.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *