BCCI Awards: Bhuvneshwar named player of the year


India’s bowling all-rounder, Bhuvneshwar Kumar was announced the winner of the Polly Umrigar Award for India’s best international cricketer of the year, While  Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar has been named this year’s recipient of the Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar enjoyed a fruitful season, scoring 263 runs and picking up 22 wickets in seven Tests. He also grabbed 17 wickets from 22 ODIs besides 7 wickets from an equal number of T20Is.

Bhuvneshwar, who made an impressive India debut in the ODI series against Pakistan in late 2012, had a superb season with both bat and ball, and was the team’s standout performer in India’s tour of England, and will receive a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh.

The board announced the 2013-14 list of awardees for this year’s BCCI Awards, which will be held in Mumbai on November 21 in a media release on Tuesday. Vengsarkar was nominated by a committee including senior journalist Shekhar Gupta, interim BCCI president Shivlal Yadav and secretary Sanjay Patel. Kapil Dev received the award in 2013.

Friday’s award ceremony will be held to recognise the top performers of the 2013-14 domestic Indian season, where Maharashtra batsman Kedar Jadhav and Himachal Pradesh allrounder Rishi Dhawan were the season’s top-scorer and highest wicket-taker respectively.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *