FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014

Ronaldo won The FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014



Cristiano Ronaldo was awarded as the best player on the planet in Zurich. The Portuguese lift the FIFA Ballon d’Or award for the third time and second time in a row after beating four- time winner Lionel Messi and Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer in votes.

Ronaldo said in his speech, “I want to become one of the greatest players of all time .Of course, this requires a lot of effort and I hope to get there.

The Portuguese got highest no of votes among 23 candidates list while Messi got second position in the voting and Manuel Neuer got the third place.

Ronaldo scored 61 goals for Real Madrid and Portugal last year. His record tally of 17 goals in a Champions League season helped Real Madrid to win10th European Cup title.

When Frenchman Thierry Henry read out his name, Ronaldo closed his eyes, dipped his head and smiled before walking to the stage.
Ronaldo said,”It has been an unforgettable year.

While the defeat of Manuel Neuer, Germany clinch three titles for the country as Joachim Loew was voted coach of the year, Ralf Kellermann won the coaching award for women’s football and Germany midfielder Nadine Kessler named the best women’s player in 2014.

The Puskas Award was won by James Rodriguez as the extraordinary volley by Rodriguez for Colombia against Uruguay at the Maracana Brazil 2014 was chosen by the users of FIFA official site.

I’d like to thank everybody who has voted for me,” said by James Rodriguez, “This was a very special moment for me and everyone in Colombia. I feel incredibly happy.”

The 11 stars that earned a place in the FIFA/FIFPro World XI 2014 selected through voting by over 20,000 professional players.
Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer
Defenders: Philipp Lahm, Sergio Ramos, David Luiz, Thiago Silva
Midfielders: Angel Di Maria, Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta
Forwards: Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Arjen Robben

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *