Shikhar Dhawan to replace injured Vijay for Sri Lanka tour

Dhawan replaces Murali Vijay for Sri Lanka Test series


Shikhar Dhawan has been picked by the board in place of Murali Vijay for the upcoming test match series against Sri Lanka. Wrist damage that had beset opener Murali Vijay during the home series against Australia has forced him to rule out of the upcoming test series against Sri Lanka.

Vijay, who had suffered a wrist injury during Australia’s tour of India, has complained of pain in his right wrist, while playing a preparatory match. The BCCI medical team has therefore advised that Vijay should continue his rehabilitation program,” BCCI said in a press release on Monday.

Dhawan has so far played 23 Tests in which he has 1464 runs at an average of 38.52. India will play 3 tests, 5ODIs and 1T20.

Another replacement has been done by the BCCI, Karun Nair dropped from the squad after Rohit Sharma recovered from injury, included in the squad. Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul, who has not played since the Australia Test series because of injury, also found a place in the squad.

Vijay had missed just a single Test – against Australia in Bengaluru – out of India’s long home period of 13 and later uncovered he had been playing with a cracked wrist. Vijay had likewise grabbed damage on the left shoulder amid the last Test against England in Chennai, making him sit on the sidelines for a month.

Dhawan was initially let well enough alone for the squad for Sri Lanka in spite of his amazing structure in the Champions Trophy a month ago, clearing a path for move down opener Abhinav Mukund. The two remaining handers and KL Rahul, additionally coming back from shoulder damage, will be India’s opening alternatives for the three Tests starting July 26 in Galle.

 July 21-22: Warm-up match (Colombo)

July 26-30: 1st Test, Galle

Aug 3-7: 2nd Test Colombo

Aug 12-16: 3rd Test, Kandy

India’s Squad: Virat Kohli (capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, K. L. Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-capt.), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, W Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav and Abhinav Mukund.


Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *