Shahid Afridi appointed Pakistan’s T20 captain

The Pakistan Cricket Board has named Shahid Afridi as captain of Twenty20 team until 2016, while Misbah-ul-Haq is retained as skipper for the limited-overs World Cup next year. He will replace Mohammad Hafeez, who resigned from captaincy in April, after Pakistan failed to go past the group stages of the 2014 World T20 in Bangladesh.

Afridi has reportedly come up as the front-runner to take over as captain, as Hafeez has resigned and the Test and ODI captain Misbah-ul Haq is not playing T20 internationals anymore.

Afridi, 34, has led Pakistan in 19 T20s between 2009-11, losing 11 and winning eight matches. He also captained Pakistan to the semifinals of World Twenty20 in the West Indies in 2010 before losing in the semifinals to Australia.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *