Kolkata Knight Riders beat Mumbai Indians by 7-wickets in the opening game of the IPL


Kolkata Knight Riders beat Mumbai Indians by 7-wickets

The first game of the eighth edition of IPL started with a storm at Eden Gardens. The defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bowl. Kolkata Knight Riders managed to bind Mumbai Indians in the opening spell with 37/3. But Mumbai Indians proved their come back with an unbeaten partnership of 131 between skipper Rohit Sharma and Corey Anderson. With Sharma’s unbeaten on 98 and Anderson’s 41of 55 Balls they posted the target of 168/3 for KKR.

Last time IPL orange capped Robin Uthappa discharged early contributing only 9 runs on 12 balls. KKR skipper Gautam Gambhir compensated his early removel by posting 57 runs and a steady partnership with Manish Pandey. Suryakumar Yadav dazzling 46 runs not out of just 20 balls finally put the match in their side.

Match Details –:

Mumbai Indians 168-3 in 20.0 Overs

(Rohit Sharma 98*, Corey Anderson 55*, Aditya Tare 7, Aron Finch 5)

(Morne Morkel 2-18, Shakib Al Hasan 1-48)


Kolkata Knight Riders 170-3 in 18.3 Overs

(Gautam Gambhir 57, Suryakumar Yadav 42*, Yusuf Pathan 14*, Robin Uthappa 9, Manish Pandey 40 )

(Corey Anderson 1-21, Jasprit bumrah 1-38, harbhajan Singh 1-38)

Man of the Match: Morne Morkel for his match winning spell 2 -18

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *