ICC: World Cup 2015 prize money raised by 20%

ICC Cricket WC 2015 sees a 20 per cent jump in total prize money.


The international cricket council under the chairmanship of Narayanaswami Srinivasan on Monday announced a 20% increase in the prize money for world cup 2015 held in Australia and New Zealand. The board has also decided that if a team wins the tournament without losing a single match it will receive total prize money of USD 4,020,000, while a team that loses one match on the way to winning the tournament will receive USD 3,975,000. The breakdown of the prize money is given below:

Particulars             2015          2011
Winner USD$3,750,000 USD$3,250,000


Runner-up USD$1,750,000 USD$1,500,000


Losing semi-finalists(two) USD$600,000 USD$500,000


Losing quarter-finalists(four) USD$300,000 USD$250,000


Winner of each group match USD$45,000×42 USD$30,000X42


Teams eliminated after group stage USD$35,000×6 teams
Total USD$10,000,000 USD$8,010,000


The decision was taken at a two-day ICC Board meeting in Dubai. It was also decided that Super Over won’t be used in tied matches in the knock-out phase. In case of a tied quarter-final and semi-final, the side finishing in the higher position in the group stage will progress. If the final is tied or if the match is a no-result, then the teams will be declared joint winners.

The board also accepted the revised ICC Anti-Doping Code, ICC Anti-Corruption Code and Code of Ethics.

ICC chairman N. Srinivasan speaking about the revision of the ICC Anti Corruption Code said: “The process for the revision was exhaustive and has been based on our learnings and experiences over the past few years. This Code is now even more robust and comprehensive and it provides clarity on jurisdictional issues, gives options to the charged participant and offers more choices to the Anti-Corruption Tribunal.”

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *