Bradman honour for Tendulkar, Waugh

812975-4605d5f0-4225-11e4-aebd-241de91fbb64 1

Indian legend player and ever time great batsman Sachin Tendulkar will join Steve Waugh for Bradman honourees 2014 in next month at a gala dinner at the Sydney Cricket Ground on October 29.

Tendulkar will be the third Indian and fourth non-Australian after Sunil Gavaskar, Rahul Dravid and Sir Richard Hadlee. Tendulkar had impressive records at the SCG, scoring 3 centuries from five tests played at this ground, including an unbeaten innings of 241 in 2004 Test match. On the other hand Waugh scored 3 centuries from 17 tests at his home ground.

“There could be no more principled and deserving individuals in the game than Sachin and Steve. Were Sir Donald to still be alive I’m sure he would unhesitatingly applaud their recognition at the ground where his ambition to play Test cricket was first kindled,” said Bradman Foundation Executive Director Rina Hore.

Previous Bradman Honourees
2006: Norm O’Neill
2007: Neil Harvey, Sam Loxton
2008: Bill Brown, Arthur Morris
2009: Alan Davidson, Dennis Lillee
2010: Sunil Gavaskar, Adam Gilchrist
2011: Sir Richard Hadlee, Bob Simpson
2012: Rahul Dravid, Glenn McGrath
2013: Mark Taylor

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *