Indian Sports Honours Awards 2017: Srikanth, PV Sindu gets top awards

Srikanth and PV Sindhu win award for best sportsperson of the year

Pro shuttler Kidambi Srikanth, who won four Super Series titles this year, packed away the Sportsman of the Year grant at the inaugural version of Indian Sports Honors held here. Olympic silver medallist PV Sindhu was the Sportswoman of the Year grant in the individual game class, a discharge said on Monday.

Ravichandran Ashwin, who today turned into the quickest bowler to achieve ‘Club 300’ in Test cricket and Indian women’s cricket team  captain Mithali Raj were awarded Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards, separately, in the Team Sport class.

Tennis player Sania Mirza was awarded Inspirational Honour by the jury, while Olympic champion Abhinav Bindra was honoured with the Transformational Contribution to Sports award.

The Indian Women’s Cricket Team, which finished as sprinters up in the ICC Women’s World Cup, were named as the Team of the Year.

Indian Sports Honors is an initiative carried down by Indian cricket team skipper Virat Kohli and businessman Sanjeev Goenka with their motive to help the improvement of Indian games. The awards were broadcasted on Star Sports.

The national sports icons and celebrities came together to honour the sports personalities of the country in the inaugural edition of Indian Sports Honours 2017 held in Mumbai.

List of honours:


Sportsman of the year (Individual sport): Srikanth Kidambi

Sportsman of the year (Team sport) – Ravichandran Ashwin

Sportswoman of the year (Individual sport) – P.V. Sindhu

Sportswoman of the year (Team sport) – Mithali Raj

Team of the year (Men/Women) – Indian Women’s Cricket Team

Coach of the year – Bisveshwar Nandi

Emerging Sportswoman of the year – Aditi Ashok

Emerging Sportsman of the year – Neeraj Chopra

Differently abled Sportsman of the year – Devendra Jhajaria

Differently abled Sportswoman of the year – Deepa Malik

Jury Honours

Keep Walking Honour for Lifetime achievement – Balbir Singh

Inspirational Honour – Sania Mirza

Transformational Contribution to Sport – Abhinav Bindra

Popular choice Honours

Breakthrough performance of the year – Hardik Pandya

Star Sports ‘Believe’ Honour (Comeback of the year) – Saina Nehwal

Spirit of Sport – Yogeshwar Dutt

Player of the year – Sunil Chhetri

Club of the year – Mumbai Indians

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *